2016 ClassicMXRider.com Pre-68 Championship – Round 1

Posted on March 29th in Race Reports. Comments Off
Words by Michael Eustace

NICK Carter rode an absolute belter through treacherous conditions to take a hat-trick of wins at round 1 of the Pre-68 Championship on Easter Sunday.

Glenn Davey leads Matt McCulloch.

Glenn Davey (250 Twin-Port CZ) negotiates the treacherous conditions ahead of Matt McCulloch (260 CZ). Photo by Alan Graves.

Two heavy downpours worked their magic on the Marks Tey circuit to make the Pre-65 Motocross Club’s first event of the year, for many, one to forget. Not so for Carter (360 CZ), who made it look easy,

Aaron Graves aboard his 750cc Triumph Metisse.

Aaron Graves turned up with his new 750cc Triumph Metisse. He rode to good effect, securing a trio of second-place finishes. Photo by Alan Graves.

That said, there was some great racing with 2015 series champion, Aaron Graves, trying out his new 750cc Triumph Metisse (video to come) for the first time. Graves managed three solid second-place finishes to tuck him in behind Carter in the championship points.

Glenn Davey made a welcome comeback after a season or two lay-off, opting to race his all singing 250cc twin-port CZ against the bigger 500s, to great effect too as he bagged himself two 3rd places.

Many riders fell foul of clogged front mudguards, thanks to the muddy conditions, which stopped their front wheels solid. None more so than Phil Crowfoot, who made a return aboard a very well prepared (by Glenn Davey), and shiny, 500cc BSA Victor, however ran in to this unfortunate issue early on.

Phil Crowfoot and his 500 BSA Victor.

Phil Crowfoot, seen here with his new 500 BSA Victor, was one of many to succumb to the conditions. Photo by Alan Graves.

Usual suspects Gene Womack, Nick Archer and Matt McCulloch all had good riders. The trio currently sit joint third in the championship.

Gene Womack aobard his 545cc Jawa Metisse.

Gene Womack (545 Jawa Metisse), as ever, rode with consistency and now sits third in the championship. Photo by Alan Graves.

  • Round 2 of the Pre-68 Championship will be at Sproxton on Sunday 3rd April 2016.
  • Round 4 of the championship was due to take place at Stebbing on the 2nd May. This how now changed date and venue, and will take place on Sunday 1st May at Maylandsea.
  • Race Results

    Race 1 Race 2 Race 3
    1 Nick Carter Nick Carter Nick Carter
    2 Aaron Graves Aaron Graves Aaron Graves
    3 Nick Archer Glenn Davey Glenn Davey
    4 Will Bateup Gene Womack Gene Womack
    5 Matt McCulloch Matt McCulloch Matt McCulloch
    6 Sam Appleton Nick Archer Nick Archer
    7 Gene Womack Pat Aldridge Will Bateup
    8 John Bateup Will Bateup Paul Crudgington
    9 Paul Crudgington Sam Appleton Colin Hutton
    10 Colin Hutton Colin Hutton Pat Aldridge
    11 Kevin Wilmer Paul Crudgington
    12 Pat Aldridge
    13 Kim Barker
    14 Harry Varndell
    15 Glenn Davey
    16 Bob Clarke
    17 Andy Abraham
    18 Phil Crowfoot
    19 Alan Southgate

    Championship standings after round 1

    Rider No Rider Total
    1 177 Nick Carter 75
    2 188 Aaron Graves 66
    3 654 Gene Womack 54
    = 115 Nick Archer 54
    = 640 Matt McCulloch 54
    6 651 Will Bateup 50
    7 202 Glenn Davey 48
    8 315 Paul Crudgington 41
    9 364 Pat Aldridge 40
    = 62 Colin Hutton 40
    11 84 Sam Appleton 31
    12 65 John Bateup 15
    13 124 Kevin Wilmer 12
    14 505 Kim Barker 10
    15 702 Harry Varndell 9
    16 69 Bob Clarke 7
    17 49 Andy Abraham 6
    18 423 Phil Crowfoot 5
    19 539 Alan Southgate 4

Comments are closed.

Latest News, Race Reports and Bike Reviews

2016 ClassicMXRider.com Pre-68 Championship – Round 4

WILL Bateup and Sam Appleton were the joint victors at round 4 of the Pre-68 Championship held at Maylandsea in Essex on Sunday 1st...

2016 ClassicMXRider.com Pre-68 Championship – Round 3

MARKS Tey played host to round 3 of the Pre-68 Championship on Sunday 17th April.

Nick Carter (360 CZ) was his usual impressive self, and...

2016 ClassicMXRider.com Pre-68 Championship – Round 2

AARON Graves and Mitchell Harris shared the spoils at round 2 of the Pre-68 Championship hosted by the Northampton Classic Club at Sproxton on...

750cc Triumph Metisse

We’re pretty sure that if it’s straight-line grunt and power you are looking for, then a 750cc Triumph Metisse has got to be the...

Crump wins Red Marley Hill Climb 2016

21-YEAR-old Tom Crump dominated the Red Marley Hill Climb for the second year running aboard his 500cc Jawa.

The youngster, from nearby Clifton-upon-Teme, won both...

2016 ClassicMXRider.com Pre-68 Championship – Round 1

NICK Carter rode an absolute belter through treacherous conditions to take a hat-trick of wins at round 1 of the Pre-68 Championship on Easter...

2016 AMCA classic scrambles season starts Easter Sunday

The Pre-65 Motocross Club and Devon Classic Scramble Club kick-start the 2016 season on Easter Sunday with their respective events at Marks Tey and...

BSA Victor Metisse: yours for £12k

If money is no object, and you’re looking for a head-turning Rickman Metisse, then perhaps this one might float your boat.

Currently in the classifieds...

Northampton Classic MCC to host two rounds of the 2016 Pre-68 Championship

As the ClassicMXRider.com Pre-68 Championship enters its fourth year of existence, we’re pleased to announce the series will be branching out from the customary...

2015 ClassicMXRider.com Pre-68 Championship – Final Round

Aaron Graves was crowned champion for the second consecutive year at the final round of the Pre-68 Championship at Marks Tey on 11th October.